Augusta awards

The Augusta Awards

The annual Augusta Awards evolved from the Association's Old Boy of the Year Award. These awards are given to Old Boys who are at the top of their respective industries or specialties, or who have demonstrated a remarkable contribution to the fields of Arts, Business, Sport and/or Public Service. The awards recognise Old Boys who have made a significant contribution in their chosen field, who have made a positive impact in their field throughout their careers, and have used their talents to encourage and inspire others to follow their lead.

We are now accepting nominations for the annual Augusta Awards for 2021. Candidates will be considered for two types of award: the Augusta Award and an award introduced in 2018, the Lion Award.

Augusta Award
The Augusta Awards are for Old Boys who have achieve at the highest level in their chosen career or profession; or through their achievements made an outstanding contribution to or demonstrated leadership in their profession, their community, New Zealand or the world. Award categories are Academia, Arts, Business, Service and Sport.

Lion Award
The Lion Award is for a younger Old Boy who, at an earlier stage of their career, are demonstrating leadership and/or remarkable achievement for their age. Early achievement may include attaining a national sporting achievement, being a senior executive or director reaching partnership in a notable professional service.

These awards will be presented at a ceremony on Thursday 11 November in the Old Boys' Pavilion. If you know someone who you think is a suitable candidate for either award, please submit your nomination by downloading the nomination form below and posting it to AGSOBA (attn: Paul Bunbury), PO Box 37785, Parnell, Auckland. Alternatively, fill in the online form below and send any supporting information or other documents to by Friday 30 July 2021. We look forward to announcing the winners later this year.

Thank you for wanting to nominate an Old Boy to be considered for an Augusta or Lion Award. ​​​​​​​Please complete as much details about the nominee as you can. Please do not seek the nominee’s approval, nor advise him of his nomination.

Your details as the nominator

Supporting statement

In the box below, please include a supporting statement for this nomination from yourself (limited to 1,500 characters). If you wish to include any other supporting information or documentation, you can send it via email to Include significant achievements and contributions of the nominee and your reason why your nominee should be considered for an Augusta/Lion Award. Information supplied will remain strictly confidential to the nominator and the members of the Selection Committee.

Admin options

2020 Augusta Award recipients

The 2020 Augusta Award recipients were recognised at a ceremony held in the Old Boys' Pavilion on Thursday 12 November 2020. They were (L-R) Greg Cross '72, Ian Bissett '68 and Mark Burgess '58.

A student at Tibbs House , Greg is a serial entrepreneur, an original technology nomad and someone who has spent his career travelling and living in every major tech market in the world. Initially taken under the wing and inspired by Bill Foreman of Trigon Industries, Greg is the epitome of a ‘Flying Kiwi’.

Greg currently works at Soul Machines, a company that was a fledgling University of Auckland project and one he co-founded. The company built a HumanOS for artificial intelligence and to explore the future of human-machine cooperation.

Ian was Head Prefect in 1972 and was Captain of the 1st XV and the Senior Athletics champion. He is renowned for his ongoing work amongst the underprivileged in Nepal, for his ‘breakthroughs’ in medical research and for his academic achievements. Ian is currently the Professor of Surgery at the University of Auckland's Medical School.

Mark captained both the 1st XI Cricket and Football teams in 1962, as well as a Prefect. Mark made his first-class debut for the New Zealand Under 23 XI against Auckland in 1963, at just 19 years old. Mark represented New Zealand in Cricket from 1967 to 1981 and captained the New Zealand team from 1978 to 1980.

2020 Lion Award recipient

The Lion Award seek to acknowledge younger Old Boys who, at an earlier stage of their career, are demonstrating leadership and/or a remarkable achievement for their age.

The award recognises Old Boys who are demonstrating outstanding achievement, leadership, integrity, excellence, respect, courage, pride, commitment and humility, and are in early or mid-career, and the 2020 recipient is Dr Henry Wong Doe '90.

Music runs in Henry’s blood and it was his education at the School that allowed him to express himself in a creative outlet. He twice won the Minister's Plate competition, the Martin Stafford prize and the Ray Wilson prize for music. "Music is a very emotional, visceral art form, and piano is especially gratifying because the musical experience is so immediate."

Henry has a tenured position as a music lecturer at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, and is an avid performer of contemporary music. He has played in some of the world’s greatest piano halls, including the Sydney Opera House, Heinz Hall in Pittsburgh, and Mann Auditorium in Tel Aviv, Israel. However, Carnegie Hall in New York holds a special place for him, where he featured works of New Zealand composer and percussionist Gareth Farr.

Previous recipients

2019 Augusta AwardeesAlan Galbraith '57 QC
Dr Alastair MacCormick '57
D. Scott Milne '69
Peter Thompson '76
Grammar Lion Award recipient - Fady Mishriki '95
2018 Augusta AwardeesStephen Jacobi '73
Professor Richie Poulton '76 CNZM
The Honourable Justice Lyn Stevens '60 QC
First Grammar Lion Award recipient - Anthony Hoy Fong '91
2017 Augusta AwardeesThe Honourable Sir Roger Douglas '51 - Service
Don McKenzie '55 CNZM, OBE - Service
Roger Moses '68 ONZM - Service
Eugene Paykel '47 - Academia
2016 Augusta AwardeesSir Michael Friedlander '49 CNZM, KNZM - Service
Emeritus Professor David Gerrard '58 CNZM, OBE - Sport, Service and Academia
Emeritus Professor Murray Meikle '52 - Academia
2015 Augusta AwardeesDr Harold Coop '47
Professor Digby MacDonald '57
Ian Narev '80
2014 Augusta Awardees
John Barnett '59 ONZM - Arts
Dr Nigel Evans '53 ONZM - Service
Sir Christopher Mace '55 CNZM - Business
Professor Peter McNaughton '62 - Academia
2013 Augusta Awardees
Dr Raoul Franklin '48 CBE - Academia
Professor Alan Kirkness '54 - Academia
Greer Twiss '52 - Arts
2011 Augusta Awardees
Sir David Baragwanath '54 KNZM - Service
Sir James McNeish '44 KNZM - Arts
Bruce Plested '55 - Business
Andrew Simester '80 - Academia
2010 Augusta Awardees
Howard Harper '44 - Service
Professor Cedric Hassall '33 - Academia
Victor Percival '43 ONZM - Business
2009 Augusta Awardees
Denis Feeney '68 - Academia
Max Gimblett '50 ONZM - Arts
The Right Honourable Sir Duncan McMullin '40 - Service
2008 Augusta Awardees
Gus Fisher '35 ONZM - Arts and Business
Sir Patrick Eisdell Moore '30 - Service
Mark Warner '65 - Academia
2007 Augusta AwardeesProfessor Peter Hunter '62 - Academia
The Honourable Peter Watson '66 CNZM - Service
2006 Old Boy of the YearProfessor Sir Graham Liggins '39
2005 Old Boy of the YearHamish Carter '85 ONZM
2004 Old Boy of the YearHis Excellency, the Rt Hon Sir Kenneth Keith '51 ONZ KBE QC
2003 Old Boy of the YearProfessor Sir Hugh Kawharu '40 ONZ FRS (NZ)